My Book Shelf

What I’m Reading

I’ve been reading a lot lately.  Here’s a run-down of the most recent.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarity

This was one my book club books.  And for once everyone who read it really enjoyed it.  It was funny and full of smart, clever writing.  And it covered a lot of area:  domestic abuse, helicopter parenting, women’s relationships, and bullying.  But it did it all with humor, mystery, and a touch of romance.

5-Star-Reviews-3D-printer-business-kit


Girls in Trucks by Katie Crouch

This one came from a quick browse of the shelves at the local library.  I read this one fast – started one evening.  Finished the next day.  I did enjoy it despite it’s mixed reviews on Goodreads.  I loved the setting – I’m a sucker for a story set in the south.  This one was also quite funny in places.  It was a little predictable in places.  But I did enjoy it.  I would have given it a solid 4 stars until I read the next book and then I had to rethink that rating.

 535px-3_stars.svg


32 Candles by Ernessa T. Carter

I loved this book. Yes, some things were predictable – it was inevitable with all the Molly Ringwald references. (I’m not sure I ever watched 16 Candles, but now I want to. ) But predictable can still be a lot fun along the way when the writing is sound, which this was. It was intelligent writing. Just enough twists and turns to be interesting. Very engaging characters. Plenty of humor. A+ Ms. Carter!

5-Star-Reviews-3D-printer-business-kit


Soaring by Kristen Ashley

This one pains me a bit to write.  In all honesty, I’m not finished with this one, but I will be in a few hours.  I have read most of what the author has written – which is quite a few books and at one point I considered her a favorite.  Not so much anymore.  Don’t think this is fancy literature because it’s not.  It’s romance.  Some people classify it as erotica but I wouldn’t because it’s more of a story with sex (also pretty boring and repetitive after the first time) rather than sex being the story – if that makes sense.  I don’t think this book is much different than her others, I think I’ve just “gotten over her” as an author.  Why?  There are several reasons, but the main reason is the writing.  She constantly repeats stuff.  Again and again.  When a character says something, the protagonist repeats it in her head – which means I have to read it again.  Or every time she looks at the man we have to read about his amazing blue eyes or his rock hard chest.  I got it the first time.  Or the first 50 times.  I’m not kidding.  The books aren’t short, but they could be if she edited out some of that crap.  Her writing is starting to remind me of “Awful-50-Shades-Writing”.  She’s also overly descriptive about the most inane things. . . shelf-bra cami.  I’d like a dollar for each time she’s used that term in her books. Almost EVERY book.  Seriously. Wouldn’t just plain cami work?  Do I NEED the visual that this cami has a built in bra?  Is it important or  does it add something to the scene?  Hardly.  I find myself re-writing her sentences.  To me, that’s not a good thing.  Then there’s the fact that every single male character seems to be unable to speak in a complete sentence. Mostly she leaves out the actual subject.  Do you get me?  (Incidentally, that’s a phrase she uses a lot.  Along with “giving it to him/me/you” – not in a sexual sense – just in the sense of an agreement.  It’s damn odd.)  I could go on, but I’m sure you have a sense of how I feel about the book.  Get me?

 535px-2_stars.svg


So, that about sums it up for my last few books.  Next up is Orphan Train and I have high expectations for it.

Oh, and I found this woman’s reading journey interesting.  Not sure I could do it.  How about you?

Leave a Reply

