Drive Time

 Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson


Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

As my husband and I are getting ready to take off on a cross country drive it got me to thinking about how much I love a good road trip!  If you are one of those people who hates a long drive, you might ask what’s to love?  I’m sure everyone has their own list of likes and dislikes, these are things that I love:

  • The anticipation and excitement that you feel as you hit the road – especially when it’s to a new place or parts unknown – is a great feeling!
  • The scenery.  Beauty is everywhere if you just open your eyes – and that means letting go of the everyday stuff that weighs you down and just look.  And ponder.
  • Road food.  Local dives and diners can be hidden gems – especially if the regional fare offered is different from home. (I use Yelp to help me ferret them out!)  To save time, you can pack your own snacks or check out this list of the best in all 50 states.
  • Time together.   I have fond memories (and a few not so fond) of many road trips over the years.  Kansas in the summer with out air conditioning?  Okay, that’s not a great one.  Lost in the fog somewhere in Illinois?  Yeah, another not so good one.  Sitting behind my dad pretending to drive to Colorado complete with sound effects? Dad might have called in painful, but I called it fun.   Listening to audiobooks and playing roadside BINGO with my son and husband. The best!  Riding shotgun holding my husband’s hand?  Priceless!  The most beautiful view is the one shared with the people you love.
  • Naps.  A long trip is the perfect opportunity for a nap – unless you are the one driving.  And if it’s raining?  Even better.
  • Knitting time: a  long stretch of time that I can spend knitting and not feel guilty about putting other things off.
  • Reading time: ditto for books.  Are you seeing that the best road trips are long enough for me to get all my favorite things in?
  • Music. Long trips are the perfect time to load up your favorite playlist (or maybe a new one) and, in this case, close your eyes and see the beauty.  If you need help, try this ultimate road trip playlist. Music helps pass the time, keeps you awake, and can even drown out a complainer.
  • The Destination.  Hopefully it’s everything you hope it will be.  But even if it’s not, the journey to get there was memorable, and lets not forget the trip back home.

And always keep in mind:  there are no shortcuts to anywhere worth going!

 

Leave a Reply

