Very Vanilla Nemo

IMG_3678Nope!  Not a new ice cream flavor…a pair of socks.  I knit these for my son’s girlfriend.  The fact that I knit her socks should be a good indicator of how I feel about this girl.  Shes fun, loves Disney movies, and is a pre-med biology major.  The colorway called Clownfish just seemed to call her name.  This was a new yarn for me.  I ordered it directly from Biscotte Yarns in Canada, but you can order some of their yarns from The Loopy Ewe here in the U.S. as well – but I don’t think the Bis-Sock yarn is available there.

The yarn stripes beautifully.  And this pair turned out to be the most perfectly matched pair I think I’ve ever done – in spite of the fact that the Doxie from yesterday’s post chewed off the yarn and then swallowed about a yard of it. (Don’t worry, all the yarn was extracted and the dog is fine!).  It’s got a nice soft silky feel to it.   I did find that it split just a bit, but the yarn is so soft and beautiful that I wouldn’t let that deter me from using it again.  I knit these on a size 1 but think next time I might go down a needle size.  She loved the finished socks!  (Pattern is Very Vanilla Socks)

I’ve got my eye on the Queen of Spades colorway – or what I prefer to call the Chicago Blackhawks color!  That will be after I finish the scarf for hubby and a camouflage-colored bottle coozy for my son.  So much to knit.  So little time.

Leave a Reply

