Resolutions v.2016

 

Resolutions

 

I don’t always make formal resolutions.  But I do reflect.  This year, I chose some things to focus on.

I started taking a yoga class in November.  I love it.  My only regret is that I haven’t been doing it for years.  It’s been a huge help for my back pain.  And I’m getting stronger.  I also find that I’m practicing the breath and and awareness even when I’m not in class.  It’s quite a drive and time commitment to get to the class, so I’m supplementing with at home practice.  I have before, but I’m making it more of a  focus for the coming year.  I started today.

I have a huge attic that’s stuffed with the detritus of children and life.  I’ve made this a focus in years past with some success.  It’s time to work on it again.  It’s hard to let go of old toys that my son loved so much.  Most of what needs gotten rid of is toys and baby stuff.  Some I will keep.  Most will go.  And what’s left needs some organization.  This won’t happen over night, but will be an ongoing project.  It’s cold up there now but I plan to spend at least 30 minutes up there every week.  This will be the hardest goal to keep I think.

Travel more.  Last year didn’t see much travel for the simple reason that I wasn’t physically able to do it.  We took a road trip to the east coast in April that was a little much for me at the time.  A long weekend in Chicago recently.  And a weekend on the motorcycle this past summer.  But I’m healing and am ready to take on more.  Dallas, here we come!

Run again.  This is a biggie for me.  Since breaking my back in October of 2014, I haven’t run.  I wasn’t cleared to run until the summer and  I did give it a rather unsuccessful try in September this fall.  I called my doctor here only to be told by his nurse that I should expect my back to hurt forever.  Those were tough words to hear.  She was cruel and blunt about it.  After drying my tears, I reached out to Germany for help.  My (truly wonderful) physical therapist and surgeon in Heidelberg gave me some suggestions to try and I’ve taken them to heart.  (Yoga was one.)  I have friends who are constantly telling me that I “don’t need to run”.  That’s true.  I don’t.  But I want to run.  For me, I think it’s the thing that will finally mean that my post-accident life is back to normal.  I guess time will tell.

So there you have it.  Resolutions in black and white out there for the world to see.

Happy New Year!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

