Love and Mothers


Mothers are fonder than fathers of their children because they are more certain they are their own. ~Aristotle

This quote has always made me chuckle a bit – I think mostly because it’s attributed to Aristotle and to think that there were doubts about paternity even three centuries before Christ.   And I see tons of memes on Facebook that deal with a mother’s love for her child.  Or a child’s love for his (or her) mother.  All very nice.  Many make me say “awwwwww” even.   But then I came across this blog post and found it truly fascinating. I think science has finally validated what all mothers have known instinctively.  When I was pregnant with my son 23 years ago, What to Expect When You’re Expecting was a relatively new book.  I must have read the entire thing multiple times over.  I really wish this book was out there then.  The science geek in me would have relished the details on the “evolutionary why” things happen the way they do.  In the end, it confirms what I have always known in my heart. . . that my son (and the two children that I miscarried as well) and I linked on more than just an emotional level. Bottom line. . . our children are not just little versions of ourselves that we protect, raise, and set free – they are really a physical part of us –forever.

Vintage 1996

Vintage 1996

Leave a Reply

