le Jardin

FullSizeRender(2)

My salvaged window box herb garden.

I don’t have much yard for a garden.  And I don’t have a green thumb either.  But last year I did try my hand at some containers on my deck, mostly herbs and a few flowers. I used my herbs to cook with all summer and they did great. But I also started with two heirloom tomato plants as well but they sort of fizzled.  One just grew to a spindly 5 feet tall and bloomed a bit, but produced no tomatoes.  Finally, in frustration I hacked it off and tossed it.  The other one produced a whopping total of three tomatoes.  One we ate. The other two the rabbits ate before I picked them. (Honestly, it wasn’t worth the time and cost of water, food, pots, and the plants themselves!)  I had planned to bring my herbs in for the winter but that didn’t happen either.  I ended up trapped in Germany for six weeks and by the time I got home in December, they were dead.  (All except for my chives…they survived winter in the pot and came back!)

So this year I started over.  Bought more herbs: cilantro, basil, sage, rosemary, lavender and thyme.  I totally LOVE the smell of the rosemary, lavender, and thyme.  My neighbor was throwing away and old window box that I snatched off the curb and gave a coat of fun pink paint called Italiano Rose with some black lettering. It’s the perfect little herb garden.  I have two more tomato plants that honestly look a little funky this year too.  Not heirloom this time, just plain old Heinz roma tomatoes.  The leaves look a bit strange and crinkled (like they sat too close to a fire or something) and I don’t have any much hope for them.   I water them appropriately and feed them.  I even TALK to them. . .well, sort of- it kind of goes like, “What the hell is wrong with you two??”   I just don’t get it.  But I have decided that If I don’t get tomatoes this year, I’m giving up on tomatoes and will just stick to herbs, Boston ferns, and one of my favorites, Gerbera daisies.  They all seem to like me!

One of my favorite flowers:  Gerbera Daisies.  And I haven't killed them yet!

One of my favorite flowers: Gerbera Daisies. And I haven’t killed them yet!

Thought for the day:   Gardening is cheaper than therapy and you get tomatoes.

Which, I only find to be half true!

Leave a Reply

