just a GLIMPSE

My son is graduating from college next weekend.  It seems like I just moved him into the dorm and now it’s time for him to move on to the next part of his life.

So I offer a little visual trip back in time of some of my favorite pictures of him.

JoyThis is one of my most favorite pictures of Levi as a little guy.  Covered in spaghetti, he was having a great time eating lunch. Spaghetti stuck to his chest. . . well at least I didn’t have to work to get a shirt clean!  Technically, I shouldn’t have used the flash, but I was still learning then – and it was in the pre-digital age.  In color, it was just a bit nasty.  But I love the infectious grin and the joy that he exudes.  It still makes me smile.

Little ManSlightly older and wiser little boy looking very thoughtful.

Pout like you really mean it!

Another favorite.  Can you see the tears threatening to fall?  I’m sure he was angry with me for capturing the moment, but it’s a classic to which all parents can relate.

New Orleans 2005 - before Katrina

New Orleans 2005 – before Katrina

Such a difference a few years can make.  I love this picture and page.  His beautiful green eyes really stand out.  It was a quiet moment at the zoo.

AwesomeThat last picture was 2005.  This is from fall of 2010.  I took most of his senior pictures myself and these were three “attempts” at nice shots while he was acting goofy.  It was only like 105 degrees outside so I’m lucky he was smiling at all.

Graduation 2011High school graduation.  It seems so far off on that first day of kindergarten, but is sure creeps up on you with record speed.

Since then . . .

He’s been to college.   He’s ridden his Harley.

Saturday Afternoon Ride

He’s grown a beard.  He’s studied abroad.

On the Mosel in GermanyAnd he’s grown into a man.  I’m not sure when it happened.  I think I must have blinked and missed it.

But I confess that sometimes when I see him sleeping, I still that little guy that stole my heart so many years ago.

Leave a Reply

