Mmmm. Mmmm. Good.

Gluten-free penne with fresh tomato basil sauce.

Gluten-free penne with fresh tomato basil sauce.

I’m not one of those people that photographs food all the time.  Promise.  But this was just too yummy not to document it.  My father brought me a big box of tomatoes last weekend.  On Saturday I used many of them along with fresh jalapeno peppers, cilantro, and onion to make fresh salsa.  SO delicious.  Not sure why I’ve never made it before.  No recipe really, just chopped until I got tired.  Tonight I looked at the box of tomatoes and decided to make a fresh pasta sauce.

It was company-worthy.  It was pretty.  And it was wonderful.  So I decided to share it with you.

Fresh Tomato-Basil Pasta Sauce

5 medium to large tomatoes – peeled, seeded, and roughly chopped.  (Take the time to do this, it makes a difference.)

2-3 T butter or olive oil  (I used butter.)

2 cloves of minced garlic.

1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped.

salt and pepper

freshly grated Parmasan cheese

Melt butter/heat oil in skillet.  Add garlic and cook briefly.  Add tomatoes and basil.  Give it a few grinds of salt and pepper.  Simmer for 20 minutes or so on low.  That’s it.  Easy peasy.  I served it with gluten-free, non-GMO corn pasta with fresh-grated Parm on top.   I don’t usually measure much unless I am baking so these amounts are kind of rough and subject to personal taste.  Bon appetit!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

