Ugly Socks Still Keep Your Feet Warm

I started knitting a pair of socks for the “hubcap” (I started calling him that when he was promoted to captain years ago.  He loves tolerates it.)  He’s sort of boring when it comes to socks.  Blue.  Black.  Brown,  Khaki.  Oh, and white for the gym.  So finding sock yarn that will appeal to both of us is a challenge.  For him because . . . well have you seen the sock yarns out there?  They are fabulous although a little bit whole lot out of his comfort zone.  For me, it’s finding a yarn plain boring enough for him but still interesting enough for me to want to knit.  I finally settled on this ball of superwash something – ball band is AWOL for the time being. The colors, by the way,  are much more drab than they appear in the picture.   I cast on eagerly in February with that glee that always accompanies a new project.  Yep.  Almost 6 months ago and I still only have part of the first sock done.  That’s kind of unheard of for me. And I can tell you why.   It’s because the things are damn ugly.  I know, I know.  I should be happy to knit on something that will bring him unabashed joy, right?  I’m not counting on that either since when I asked him a few weeks ago if he was really going to wear them he hesitated before saying yes.  He hesitated.  Doesn’t bode well for the sock love.  So I guess now I need to decide whether to forge ahead and finish the ugly buggers or rip them out and knit something that is enjoyable and will be loved by someone.  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 thoughts on “Ugly Socks Still Keep Your Feet Warm

  1. Pingback: Let’s Talk Yarn . . . | A Twisted Yarn

Leave a Reply

